My internship is located in Tiffin, OH. The site is one of the largest YMCA's in Ohio.  It is surrounded by Hedges Park, which is used a lot by the community for softball games, volleyball, outdoor pool, disk golf, B-B-Q, and many more activities.  This is a good place for a YMCA to be located because the park is used by the community and know the area.  

My mentor is Becky Bohn.  She is the head director of gymnastics and youth sports for the YMCA.  She organizes schedules, registration forms, coaching staff, equipment and facilities for the youth sports teams.  When she isn't directing the youth sports programs she is doing private lessons for gymnastics, running gymnastics tournaments, and organizing the storage areas for ending seasons to put their equipment. 
My duties as the Sports Intern is to assist the Program Director in leading the Youth Development curriculum and activities.  I also at as a liaison for the YMCA's youth sports programs.  Assist in managing and scheduling youth sports programs.  Supervise the participants to ensure appropriate development occurs in fun, healthy, and safe environment.  Flexible hours to work during the day or evening, weekdays or weekends.  Provide guidance to volunteers, coaches, and parents.  Provide instruction at practices or camps.  Help with promotions of programs, activities, and events.  
---Ensure that the coaches have everything they need such as; if we are low on equipment/ if the equipment is broken, if we need to order more whistles or tee-shirts?  Distribution of documents from the YMCA to coaches at practices or games such as tee shirt information, picture day info, or medals and awards.  
---Setting up and taking down equipment from off site locations for games, practices, events, meets, and programs.  
---Make sure the coaches are playing by the rules and being kind to the participants.  Being strict about the YMCA's policies and procedures related to safety and conduct rules and regulations.
---Assistance in the cleanliness of National's Fields, restrooms and storage area once a week.  
---For gymnastics:  help organizing rosters, finding new waivers of registered children and attaching blank waivers to those who are new.  Assisting/shadowing/coaching aid for gymnastics classes when possible.

CULTURE
---Tiffin YMCA realizes that members are setting out on a lifelong journey of healthy spirit, mind and body.  Becoming a part of an association that offers everything from child care to health and fitness to youth development to the arts and humanities, and much more!

Starting this internship at the Tiffin YMCA doesn't seem like a new place for me.  I have been going to the YMCA in Tiffin since I started school at TU so I am use to the environment and the building.  

Before I start my hours I need to know what my expectations are of being the Sports Intern? What kind of hours I will be working everyday/week?  If I need to wear anything specific while working?  
I met with Becky Bohn at YMCA.  She explained to me what she needs me to help her with and the expectations of the Sports Intern.  She said that she needed help with mostly tee-ball, getting shirts orders and getting equipment ready and in the storage room at National Fields.  I had to fill out a back round check for the YMCA so that I can be around children that are participating in youth sports.  Becky Bohn explained some gymnastic's registration forms and folded fliers to send out.
----I did registration sheets for gymnastics sessions.  There were 3 different sessions in which I had to look for waivers for each participant.  If the participants had a waiver on file then I would send the family just a flier and a schedule reminding them about the upcoming gymnastic events.  If the participants did not have a waiver on file or are new to the YMCA I would attach the flier and a waiver and send it out the flier and schedule.  After the fliers were sent Becky and I went to Nationals Fields to check on the baseball inventory to make sure the teams have everything they need for practices and games, to see if the equipment is broken or needs to be replaced.  We cleaned up the Field's restrooms and around the park to keep it cleaned up.  The National Field is owned by a factory and let's the YMCA use the fields at first priority and they pay for the electricity, so the YMCA tries to keep it clean to show appreciation for letting us use the field.
---On this day, it was more hands on activities.  Becky and I went to the fields to set up flag football games.  We had to set up where the fields are supposed to be located and unlock the storage room so the coaches can get out the equipment that they need.  There was both soccer and football games going on.  Becky went around saying hi to all the coaches and introduced me as the Sports Youth Intern.  After the introductions, we went back to the Y to check on a gymnastics class was going and saw how it was being set up and how it was running.  There were not many participants.  We went back to the fields to set up for soccer games such as get nets out and soccer balls.  Becky introduced me to the other coaches.  What I noticed was that the coaches ran everything pretty much by themselves.  Got the children all together had their teams on the same page and didn't need any instruction.  Beck and I were just watching and making sure that the coaches weren't being mean to the children and being coached well.  We checked the restrooms before we left and took out the garbage and noted that the bathrooms needed to be cleaned soon to the janitors.  The Y wants everyone to have a good experience and a good time.



Leave a Reply.