T0day is a change in my routine from the usual setting up fields for tee ball games.  Today I was in the office with Becky.  I helped her organize registration forms for gymnastics because a new season is coming up soon.  I had to alphabetize forms and make sure that every participant had a permission slip filled out.  I sent out fliers with forms and a news letter attached to every family.  I also filled out the excel sheet for the gymnastic coaches for the 7 sessions that they will coach.  The sheet just had attendance and when the coaches needed to fill out evaluations for each participant.  
Back to my normal schedule for today with setting up Nationals Field for tee ball games.  But once again the games were cancelled due to a heat advisory.  The Y hadn't rescheduled the last games that were cancelled from the heat advisory so now they have more games to reschedule.   
This Saturday was track & fields last meet.  I hadn't done anything with track & field so I wasn't sure what they wanted me to help them with.  The meet was at Hieldburg's track and there is a bunch of construction still going on there because they are building a new building right next to the track.  I went their early to help set up everything.  The first thing they had me do was make signs to tell people where the bathrooms where because the restrooms that were by the track were also having construction done.  The building was closed so I had to direct people all the way to the front of the gym for the restrooms with signs.  I heard some complaints about how far away the restrooms were but that was the only place that we had so we couldn't really do anything about it.  After that I just hung out and helped some kids to which event they were supposed to be at.  This reminded me of a big track and field day.  There was a lot of events for the kids to do and the ages were from 4-18.  The had running events such as: 30/60/100 meter hurdles, 100/200 meter dash, 800/400/1600 meter run, and 400/800 meter relays.  The field events were: shot put, discus, javelin, long jump, high jump, softball throw, and Frisbee throw.  I kept times for a lot of events and I also was a runner to deliver time sheets to the awards tables.  It was a long day but the weather worked with us and it was pretty cool out.  



Leave a Reply.