I have worked this internship for a long time now and me and Becky have been somewhat into a normal routine.  This day was different though.  Becky asked me to help her out with one of her gymnastic classes that she had scheduled.  Normally she would have done this on her own but it was a good experience to see what other activities the YMCA puts on.  This event was an event for home schooled students that were 7-10 years old, both boys and girls.  There was about 10 of students all together and there was one student who had a disorder that Becky wanted me to kind of keep an eye on.  There were two parents that stayed and watched.  The event was set up in the YMCA gymnastics area in the back of the gym and me and Becky set up about 3 different stations.  The students were pretty good about following directions and listening but I ended up baby sitting one of the students, which I didn't mind because I was helping out Becky so she could focus on the students that were actually listening and paying attention to the activities.  I think this opportunity was very helpful for new activities ideas for the future.  It was also good to get out of the normal routine and paper work.  
At the end of this week it was picture day for flag football and youth soccer.  I gave the coaches the picture forms to hand out to the players after last week games so everyone had the forms filled out and ready for the photographer when they got there; which was very helpful because it made the day a lot less stressful.  I had previous experience with picture day because one of the first things I did when I started this internship was tee-ball picture day, so I had an idea of how things went on this day.  After all of the flag football teams got their pictures they started their games and the soccer teams were next in line.  The pictures went by pretty fast and the photographers were very happy with that.  Having experience with two picture days has prepared me to take on stressful situations like questions that parents and coaches might have on the spot.  



Leave a Reply.