Today I went to Nationals Field and set up the four fields that the YMCA uses.  I have to lay out the bases, tee stands, helmets, bats & balls. Today was the second set of games for the teams so all the teams had to come to the fields even if they didn't have a game because it was picture day.  All the teams were there about a half hour early for the pictures so the games could be on schedule. The pictures went smoothly and all the kids looked cute with their bats in the pictures.   I made sure that all of the coaches had picture forms to fill out so that the parents could buy the pictures afterwards.  The games went on as usually after the pictures were all taken.  After the games were over i picked up the fields and put equipment in the storage room.  Becky showed up at the end and we talked about what she needs me to help her with next week. 
Tee ball has games every Thursday & Saturday so my normal routine for my internship is to go to Nationals Field and set up for the games and clean up after the games are over.  I also make sure that the restrooms and the area is cleaned up.  I set up for games today and the coaches seemed to do more of the cleaning up part.  All they need to do is put the bats and balls in the bag that I lay out for them before the games and also pick up the bases and tees and put them into the storage room.  It's not very hard but it takes a long time for one person to do all four fields so it helps me out a lot when the coaches help out a little bit.  
The past game day that I have went and set up at Nationals Field for (Thursday) the games had gotten cancelled due to a heat advisory.  It was too hot outside for them to play so the Y has to reschedule the games.  But the most recent game (Saturday) I went and set up for did not get cancelled.  The coaches are starting to get to know me and are more willing to clean up after the games are done.  I still go and help them out and talk to the coaches and see if they need any new equipment and see how the games are going for them.  



Leave a Reply.